PDA

View Full Version : New to donating... have ?s

bj72
02-01-2008, 02:48 AM
Hi, feel a bit silly asking this....I'm new to donating, not new really to politics or RP.

Is it better to donate as a couple $102, or say $51 each when donating, or does it not matter either way? Guess I'm wondering if amount of people, or the amount of individual donations is tallied over the overall donation total in the end.

Neither my husband, nor I have ever donated to a campaign. We'd give more, but he's in the military, I stay-at-home, and we have 3 munchkins, so our budget is weighing on us. I thought we'd start at $51 each ($102 total) and see how it goes from there. I'm debating whether to do it now (I briefly discussed it with him today...I'm up late in CA courtesy of our 4 month old), or wait and see if he'll go for more tomorrow morning.

Thanks!

acroso
02-01-2008, 02:51 AM
Better all as one since there are transaction fees for online payments.

Either way though since those don't cost too much.

If you're sending a check then it won't matter.

Chibioz
02-01-2008, 02:52 AM
For each credit card transaction there is a small fixed cost and a percentage that is eaten in credit transaction fees, so it is better to do it in 1 shot so as to avoid any fixed fees. I do not know the exact fixed amounts or percentages. Hope that helps.

pacelli
02-01-2008, 02:52 AM
Hi, feel a bit silly asking this....I'm new to donating, not new really to politics or RP.

Is it better to donate as a couple $102, or say $51 each when donating, or does it not matter either way? Guess I'm wondering if amount of people, or the amount of individual donations is tallied over the overall donation total in the end.