PDA

View Full Version : How to make the case for "Stopping the war = MORE security"

kyleAF
01-30-2008, 12:51 AM
It just occurred to me that something Ron Paul should be hammering home about this whole "bring the troops home because it costs too much and we're less secure because of it" is this:

Our F-15s are falling out of the sky on routine missions! I'm in the Air Force... this is actually happening. We've grounded a good portion of our Eagle fleet off-and-on due to fatigue in certain structural components of the aircraft.

This could be a talking point if he plays it correctly.

"We are spending WAY too many resources on this needless war. The U.S. Air Force (of which I am a VETERAN!) is flying planes that have been in service for over 50 years! They've been operating NON-STOP in Iraq for over 17 years! We now have our once-premier F-15 Eagle fighter planes falling out of the sky because we can't afford to upgrade them. Some of these planes are over 30 years old!! While we spend BILLIONS of dollars each day to fund the operations in Iraq, we are losing our ability to defend ourselves in the future. We are losing our military's greatest advantage by overextending our forces. We are losing our superior fire power. This needs to stop RIGHT NOW! THAT will help to bring security to this nation. Not this never-ending, undeclared war."

Bump it if you like it.

And get it to the HQ as a suggestion if you can (I'm not sure how)...

Thanks!

kyleAF
01-30-2008, 12:54 AM
self-bump til I get a bite...

gaazn
01-30-2008, 12:55 AM
screw the war, focus on the economy.

colecrowe
01-30-2008, 12:56 AM
make this go viral: http://img186.imageshack.us/my.php?image=warandpeace2sw6.jpg

http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/8100/warandpeace2sw6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

kyleAF
01-30-2008, 12:58 AM
Yes. The economy's great for the campaign (because it sucks), but it's no panacea for the campaign. GOP = military base... Not everyone's economics-minded (though I am).