PDA

View Full Version : Educating myself - A personal victory

gpickett00
01-29-2008, 10:16 PM
Throughout the last 10 months that I have known of Ron Paul I have made giant leaps in my knowledge about government, foreign policy and monetary policy. I am 20 years old and I feel like I can successfully debate most educated adults using Ron Paul's platform.

In the fall of 2006 I first became interested in Libertarianism via John Stossel videos and economics class. For 7 months of 2007 I studied abroad halting my further education of Libertarian ideals. Upon discovering Ron Paul, increasingly I desired to further educate myself and as a result, my knowledge has grown exponentially.

I remember a time in mid-December upon returning home for winter break I debated a liberal friend of mine and his mom simultaneously. Looking back, I really sucked and I could do a lot better now.

A huge step for me was, instead of trying to convince people that Libertarian policy is the best, argue that the constitution doesn't allow things that they support. Also an important point was learning about monetary policy and using national debt and overspending as my 1-2 punch.

Right now I am not sure how I will put this knowledge to good use. Sure, I am supporting Ron Paul and some say that is good enough. From here on I will be able to make the most informed and correct decision possible because of my self education and I am thankful for that.

In 2010 I will graduate with a degree in economics and after college I plan on joining the Navy as an officer and staying for 6 years, maybe more if I see promise there. Eventually I may consider running for public office if I am still inspired by this Revolution.

Let me know how you have grown in your education of politics and government and how you plan on using in the future. Include age and anything else informative.

thechitowncubs
01-29-2008, 10:19 PM