PDA

View Full Version : To the old folks & neocons

hillbilly
01-29-2008, 06:59 PM
I have been involved locally for about 7 years now as an electoral judge & precinct delegate. Recently I was offered the opportunity to speak in front of a group of our Republican ladies. I am the youngest by about 20 years in this group. I am in my 2nd year of active layspeaking (substitute preacher lady/person) but this is the first time I have had any opportunity to speak publicly & politically. I did promise that this would not be a Ron Paul speech, but rather geared towards inspiring young people to become active within the Rep party.

I found that by invoking both Reagan & our founding fathers quotes, these old WWII & Korea generation old folk received the message very well. I shared the spotlight with our county chair & he was the first to give me a standing o when I was done.

There was a Q&A afterwards & the only question I received was, "When our your meetings?" It was only then that I mentioned Dr. Paul's name in my response, "Our Ron Paul meetups are...."

I invited my meetup folk to come on out, but none showed,
But actually getting my meetup members to do it/anything other than a sign wave is like tryin to pull teeth.

Here's my message to them (I'm sharing it because I found it to be quite effective, please feel free to copy & share with whomever)